WSPBuilder doesn't create .wsp file

May 30, 2008 at 8:56 PM
I'm new to Sharepoint development.  I have VisualStudio 2008 and have installed the SharePoint_SmartTemplates_for_Visual_Studio_2008_v0.2.exe and created a new project selecting the "SharePoint Web Part (SmartTemplate)" option.  That creates a "hello world" kind of WebPart.

So without making any changes, I have VS build the project and I get a error in the createwsp.bat file - "exited with code 4."

The build output looks like this:
------ Build started: Project: TestWebPart, Configuration: Debug Any CPU ------
TestWebPart -> C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\My Documents\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\TestWebPart\TestWebPart\bin\Debug\TestWebPart.dll
CD C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\My Documents\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\TestWebPart\TestWebPart\\WSP
createwsp.bat

Copying DLL ...
..\bin\debug\TestWebPart.dll
1 File(s) copied
Running WSPBuilder ...
Copying WSP to Setup ...
File not found - TestWebPart.wsp
0 File(s) copied
C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v3.5\Microsoft.Common.targets(3314,13): error MSB3073: The command "CD C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\My Documents\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\TestWebPart\TestWebPart\\WSP
C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v3.5\Microsoft.Common.targets(3314,13): error MSB3073: createwsp.bat
C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v3.5\Microsoft.Common.targets(3314,13): error MSB3073:     " exited with code 4.
Done building project "TestWebPart.csproj" -- FAILED.
========== Build: 0 succeeded or up-to-date, 1 failed, 0 skipped ==========

Digging further, I find that the WSPBuilder utility is not creating the .WSP file so then the xcopy fails. 

I played around with the WSPBuilder utility command line options - adding "-TraceLevel Verbose" - but it doesn't emit any additional information.  WSPBuilder seems to run to completion with no errors but no WSP file is created.  The createwsp.bat file has this: